Washington State Sheriffs' Association
Home Page Contact WSSA WSSA Officers County Information Links of Interest

Jefferson County

Jefferson County, Washington State
Founded: December 22, 1852

Jefferson County
Sheriff's Office

79 Elkins Road
Port Hadlock, WA

Phone: 360.385.3831
Web Site
Send Email

Jefferson County is named after Thomas Jefferson. As of 2017, the estimated population was 31,324. The county seat is at Port Townsend, which is also the county's only incorporated city.

Jefferson County was formed out of Thurston County on December 22, 1852 by the legislature of Oregon Territory, and included the northern 4,854 square miles portion of the Olympic Peninsula. On April 26, 1854 the legislature of Washington
Territory created Clallam County from the northwestern 2,670 square miles portion of this original area.

The Hood Canal Bridge connects Jefferson County to Kitsap County, Washington. The Keystone-Port Townsend route of the Washington State Ferries connects the county to Whidbey Island in Island County, Washington.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,184 square miles of which, 1,814 square miles of it is land and 369 square miles of it is water.  Population density is 16 per square mile.

Principal Communities:
  • Port Townsend
  • Port Ludlow
  • Port Hadlock
  • Irondale
  • Marrowstone
  • Chimacum
  • Cape George
  • Clearwater
  • Gardiner
  • Kalaloch
  • Kala Point
  • Queets
  • Quilcene
  • Brinnon

Previous Page



Sheriff Joe Nole
Took Office: January 1, 2019

Employees: 50
Budget: $4 million

Jefferson County Courthouse County Seat: Port Townsend

(Photo by Scott M. Eakman)