Washington State Sheriffs' Association
Home Page Contact WSSA WSSA Officers County Information Links of Interest

Adams County

Adams County, Washington State
Founded: November 28, 1883

Adams County
Sheriff's Office

210 West Broadway
Ritzville, WA 99169

Phone: 509.659.1122
Web Site
Send Email

Adams County is named in honor of the second President of the United States, John Adams.  As of 2017, the estimated population was 19,506.  The county seat is at Ritzville, and its largest city is Othello.

Adams County was formed out of Whitman County on November 28, 1883.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,930 square miles, of which, 1,925 square miles of it is land and 5 square miles of it (0.25%) is water.  The population density is 8 per square mile.

Principal Communities:
  • Hatton
  • Othello
  • Ritzville (County Seat)
  • Washtucna

Previous Page


Sheriff Dale Wagner
Took Office: September 2015




Employees: 36
Budget: $2.4 million

Adams County Courthouse County Seat: Ritzville