Washington State Sheriffs' Association
Home Page Contact WSSA WSSA Officers County Information Links of Interest

Asotin County

Founded: October 27, 1883

Asotin County
Sheriff's Office

127 Second Street
Asotin, WA 99942

Phone: 509.243.4717
Web Site
Send Email

Asotin County is part of the Lewiston, ID-WA Metropolitan Statistical Area, which includes all of both Nez Perce County, Idaho and Asotin County. As of 2017, the estimated population was 22,535. The county seat is at Asotin, and its largest city is Clarkston. "Asotin" derives from a Nez Perce word meaning "Eel Creek". It is part of the Palouse, a wide and rolling prairie-like region of the middle Columbia basin.

Asotin County was created out of Garfield County on October 27, 1883.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 641 square miles, of which, 635 square miles of it is land and 5 square miles of it (0.83%) is water. The population density is 241 per square mile.

Principal Communities:
  • Asotin (County Seat)
  • Clarkston
  • Anatone

Previous Page


Sheriff John Hilderbrand
Took Office: Nov. 25, 2014

Employees: 27
Budget: $2.3 million

Asotin County Courthouse County Seat: Asotin