Washington State Sheriffs' Association
Home Page Contact WSSA WSSA Officers County Information Links of Interest

Mason County

Founded: March 13, 1854

Mason County
Sheriff's Office

322 North 3rd Street
Shelton, WA 98584

Phone: 360.427.9670
Web Site
Send Email

Mason County is named for the first Secretary of Washington Territory, C. H. Mason. As of 2017, the estimated population was 63,710. The county seat is at Shelton, the county's only incorporated city.

Mason County was formed out of King County on March 13, 1854. Originally named Sahewamish County, it took its present name in 1864.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,051 square miles, of which, 961 square miles of it is land and 90 square miles of it is water. The population density is 52 per square mile.

Principal Communities:
  • Allyn-Grapeview
  • Shelton (County Seat)
  • Skokomish


Previous Page


Sheriff Casey Salisbury
Took Office: January 1, 2007

Employees: 103
Budget: $8.9 million

Mason County Courthouse
County Seat: