Washington State Sheriffs' Association
Home Page Contact WSSA WSSA Officers County Information Links of Interest

Pierce County

Founded: December 22, 1852

Pierce County
Sheriff's Office

930 Tacoma Avenue South
Tacoma, WA 98402

Phone: 253.798.7530
Web Site
Send Email

Pierce County was named for U.S. President Franklin Pierce. It is the second most populous county in the state. As of 2017, the estimated population was 876,764. The county seat is Tacoma, on Commencement Bay, also the county's largest city.

Pierce County was formed out of Thurston County on December 22, 1852, by the legislature of Oregon Territory.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,806 square miles, of which, 1,679 square miles of it is land and 128 square miles of it (7.06%) is water. The population density is 417 per square mile.

Principal Communities:
  • Bonney Lake
  • Buckley
  • Carbonado
  • DuPont
  • Eatonville
  • Fife
  • Fort Lewis
  • Fox Island
  • Gig Harbor
  • Graham
  • Greenwater
  • Lakewood
  • McChord

  • Milton (partial)
  • Orting
  • Pacific (partial)
  • Parkland
  • Puyallup
  • Roy
  • Ruston
  • Spanaway
  • Steilacoom
  • Tacoma (County Seat)
  • University Place
  • Waller
  • Wilkeson


Previous Page


Sheriff Edward Troyer
Took Office: 2021

Employees: 780
Budget: $97 million

Pierce County Courthouse
County Seat: