Washington State Sheriffs' Association
Home Page Contact WSSA WSSA Officers County Information Links of Interest

Skagit County

Founded: November 28, 1883

Skagit County
Sheriff's Office

600 South Third
Mount Vernon, WA 98273

Phone: 360.336.9450
Web Site
Send Email

Skagit County is named after the Skagit Indian tribe. As of 2017, the estimated population was 125,619. It is included in the Mount Vernon-Anacortes, Washington Metropolitan Statistical Area. The county seat is at Mount Vernon, which is also the county's largest city.

Skagit County was formed out of Whatcom County on November 28, 1883.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,920 square miles, of which, 1,735 square miles of it is land and 185 square miles of it (9.65%) is water. The population density is 60 per square mile.

Principal Communities:
  • Anacortes
  • Burlington
  • Concrete
  • Hamilton
  • La Conner
  • Lyman
  • Mount Vernon (County Seat)
  • Sedro-Woolley
  • Alger

  • Bay View
  • Big Lake
  • Clear Lake
  • Conway
  • Edison
  • Lake Cavanaugh
  • Lake McMurray
  • Marblemount
  • Rockport


Previous Page


Sheriff Don McDermott
Took Office: January 1, 2019

Employees: 117
Budget: $12.3 million

Skagit County Courthouse
County Seat:
Mount Vernon