Washington State Sheriffs' Association
Home Page Contact WSSA WSSA Officers County Information Links of Interest

Snohomish County

Founded: January 14, 1861

Snohomish County
Sheriff's Office

3000 Rockefeller Avenue, M/S 606
Everett, WA 98201

Phone: 425.388.3414
Web Site
Send Email

Snohomish County is named after the Snohomish tribe. The county's 2017 estimated population is 801,633, making it one of the fastest-growing in the state, ranking third in overall population after King (2,189,000) and Pierce (876,764) counties (2017 figures). The county seat is at Everett, the county's largest city in population. The highest point in the county is volcanic Glacier Peak at 10,541 feet (3,213 meters) above sea level.

Snohomish County was created out of Island County on January 14, 1861.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,196 square miles, of which, 2,089 square miles of it is land and 107 square miles of it (4.89%) is water. The population density is 290 per square mile.

Principal Communities:
  • Alderwood Manor
  • Arlington
  • Bothell
  • Brier
  • Darrington
  • Edmonds
  • Everett (County Seat)
  • Gold Bar
  • Granite Falls
  • Index
  • Lake Stevens
  • Lynwood
  • Maltby
  • Mill Creek
  • Monroe
  • Mountlake Terrace
  • Mukilteo
  • Silvana
  • Smokey Point
  • Snohomish
  • Stanwood
  • Startup
  • Sultan
  • Warm Beach
  • Woodway

Previous Page


Sheriff Adam Fortney
Took Office: January 2020

Employees: 363
Budget: $51.2 million

Snohomish County Courthouse
County Seat: