Washington State Sheriffs' Association
Home Page Contact WSSA WSSA Officers County Information Links of Interest

Spokane County

Founded: October 30, 1879

Spokane County
Sheriff's Office

1100 W Mallon
Spokane, WA 99260

Phone: 509.447.5980
Web Site
Send Email

Spokane County is named after the Spokane Indian tribe. As of the 2017 Washington Census estimation, the population was 506,152, making it the fourth most populous county in Washington State. The county seat is at Spokane, the county's largest city, and the second largest city in Washington State to Seattle. It is part of the Palouse, a wide and rolling prairie-like region of the middle Columbia basin. The lowest point in the county is the Spokane River behind Long Lake Dam at 1,538 feet above sea level. The highest point in the county is Mount Spokane at 5,883 feet.

Spokane County was formed on January 29, 1858. It was annexed by Stevens County on January 19, 1864, and re-created on October 30, 1879.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,781 square miles, of which, 1,764 square miles of it is land and 17 square miles of it (0.96%) is water. The population density is 238 per square mile.

Principal Communities:
  • Airway Heights
  • Cheney
  • Deer Park
  • Dishman
  • Fairchild AFB
  • Latah
  • Liberty Lake
  • Medical Lake
  • Millwood
  • Opportunity
  • Rockford
  • Spangle
  • Spokane (County Seat)
  • Veradale

Previous Page


Sheriff Ozzie Knezovich
Took Office: 2006

Employees: 544
Budget: $30.2 million

Spokane County Courthouse
County Seat: