Washington State Sheriffs' Association
Home Page Contact WSSA WSSA Officers County Information Links of Interest

Thurston County

Founded: December 22, 1852

Thurston County
Sheriff's Office

2000 Lakeridge Drive SW
Olympia, WA 98502

Phone: 360.786.5500
Web Site
Send Email

Thurston County is named after Samuel R. Thurston, the Oregon Territory's first delegate to Congress. The 2017 estimated population was 280,588. The county seat is at Olympia, the state capital and also the county's largest city.

Thurston County was created out of Lewis County by the government of Oregon Territory on January 12, 1852. At that time, it covered all of the Puget Sound region and the Olympic Peninsula. On December 22 of the same year, Pierce, King, Island, and Jefferson Counties were split off from Thurston County.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 774 square miles, of which, 727 square miles of it is land and 47 square miles of it (6.03%) is water. The population density is 285 per square mile.

Principal Communities:
  • Bucoda
  • Grand Mound
  • Lacey
  • Nisqually
  • Olympia (County Seat)

  • Rainier
  • Rochester
  • Tenino
  • Tumwater
  • Yelm


Previous Page


Sheriff John Snaza
Took Office: January 1, 2011

Employees: 207
Budget: $28 million

Thurston County Courthouse
County Seat: