Washington State Sheriffs' Association
Home Page Contact WSSA WSSA Officers County Information Links of Interest

Wahkiakum County

Founded: April 25, 1854

Wahkiakum County
Sheriff's Office

64 Main Street
Cathlamet, WA 98612

Phone: 360.795.3242
Web Site
Send Email

Wahkiakum County is named after Chief Wahkiakum ("Tall Timber") of the Chinook. It is the smallest county (by total area) in the state, and has the third-smallest land area (behind San Juan County and Island County). As of 2017, the estimated population was 4,264. The county seat is the town of Cathlamet, which is also the county's largest and only incorporated community. The County operates the Wahkiakum County Ferry, which connects Cathlamet to Westport, Oregon across the Columbia River.

Wahkiakum County was formed out of Cowlitz County on April 25, 1854.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 287 square miles, of which, 264 square miles of it is land and 22 square miles of it (7.83%) is water. The population density is 16 per square mile.

Principal Communities:
  • Altoona
  • Brookfield
  • Cathlamet (County Seat)
  • Dahlia
  • Deep River-Grays River-Roseburg

  • East Cathlamet
  • Elochoman Valley
  • Pillar Rock
  • Puget Island
  • Skamokawa


Previous Page


Sheriff Mark Howie
Took Office: October 24, 2012

Employees: 18
Budget: $2.5 million

Wahkiakum County Courthouse
County Seat: