Washington State Sheriffs' Association
Home Page Contact WSSA WSSA Officers County Information Links of Interest

Yakima County

Founded: January 23, 1863

Yakima County
Sheriff's Office

1822 South 1st Street
Yakima, WA 98903

Phone: 509.574.2500
Web Site
Send Email

Yakima County is named after the Yakama tribe of Native Americans. In 2017, the estimated population was 250,193. The county seat is Yakima, which is also its largest city. The highest point in the county is Mount Adams, the second tallest peak in Washington, at 12,277 feet (3,742 meters) above sea level.

Yakima County was formed out of Ferguson County on January 21, 1865. Ferguson County, no longer in existence, had been formed out of Walla Walla County on January 23, 1863.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 4,312 square miles, of which, 4,296 square miles is land and 16 square miles is water. The population density is 57 per square mile.

Principal Communities:
  • Grandview
  • Granger
  • Harrah
  • Mabton
  • Moxee
  • Naches
  • Selah

  • Sunnyside
  • Tieton
  • Toppenish
  • Union Gap
  • Wapato
  • Yakima (County Seat)
  • Zillah


Previous Page


Sheriff Robert Udell
Took Office: January 1, 2019

Employees: 112
Budget: $10.4 million

Yakima County Courthouse
County Seat: